12 Days of Christmas Blogging- Christmas Trees & Shiny Things

I couldn’t be more thrilled to be taking part in 12 Day of Christmas Blogging with Mr. Thomas & me and Hooley with a Z . This is my first adventure taking part in something like this and I’m like a little kid on Christmas Eve (insert jumping up and down and clapping here). And… composing myself.

Today December 9th is Christmas Tree/Home Decor. I am going to share a few of my favorite things this Christmas decorating season. I’m still trying to get a grasp on what my Christmas decorating taste is. During my college years and right out of college Christmas decorating for me meant putting a snowman any and everywhere one would fit in my tiny apartments. Now that I live in the “big girl” world and have a “big girl” life I’m searching to find my place in all things Christmas Decor.

The pieces I want to share with you are all new, thank goodness for a local hobby store and their amazing holiday season discounts. Raise your hand if you are a, more bang for your buck kind of bargain shopper, like this gal right here. I want fabulous, I need beautiful…but I must have without question a great deal for it. Fabulous on a Budget is what I call it. Alright without further waiting or blogger rambling, here are a few of my favorite things.

Deer

I love these little guys. Originally $19 a piece, cough cough for garland deer, but with my Fabulous on a Budget research I got them for $3. Thank you very much, don’t mind if I do, oh yeah and I’ll take two. When I purchased them the store clerk asked where they would be going, I told her on our mantel. My Manfriend, he’s funny or thinks he is, chimed in with, “Yeah for target practice”. The store clerk then looks horrified as though he was talking about harming a living breathing creature, looks at me with the widest eyes and says, “You won’t let him do that right?” She will be happy to know that Holly and Mistletoe (yes I named them) have safely sat on the mantel for an entire 3 days without sniper fire.

nutcracker

This guy sits in our kitchen protecting our butcher-block of knives. I will be the first to admit that I catch food on fire, burning it to charcoal by simply thinking about it. So Manfriend, I’m such a lucky girl, does most if not all of the cooking in our house. I picked up this piece for a kitchen invasion. You see Manfriend made me promise I wouldn’t allow Christmas to take over the kitchen, so the Nutcracker was my version of  a compromise. He doesn’t have Christmas in his face while he fattens us all up and I still get my hint-o-Chistmas victory. It’s a win, amiright?

DSC_7017

My favorite thing this year is a Christmas card I received from two very dear friends. I already knew the news, but being a writer seeing it in print made it a little more real. These two loving, amazing, fantastic, big hearted people have struggled for years with infertility problems. Then a true miracle happened, the two were blessed with baby in the making. I couldn’t be more excited to be on this adventure with them to welcome their bundle of blessings into the world June 2014. This is proof that hope, faith, and miracles are real.

I want to wrap this up with a little food for thought this christmas:

twinkle lights copy

Until tomorrow everyone…

Keep in Sassy & Classy,

B

13 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas Blogging- Christmas Trees & Shiny Things

  1. Those deer make my heart skip a little beat. What is it about pine (real or fake) that just gets my heart going AND makes me crave glitter!?!? 🙂 Erin and I are thrilled to have you doll…. So happy to meet someone new! And, truth be told, this is the first time I’ve done any challenge like this too! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the warm welcome. I’m really enjoying getting to know everyone. You are singing my tune, glitter, of course. The world is always a little bit better with some sparkle added to it. Thank you so much for sharing in this wonderful Christmas blogging adventure with me.

  2. I love the dear and Manfriend’s comment to the clerk is so funny, I love that she was all worried that would really happen.

    I’m not the cook in my home either, Tyson actually cooks for a living so I got lucky. If it weren’t for him it would be take out and boxed meals every night.

    • Funny you mentioned boxed meals. Manfriend worked late last week so one night I created dinner ala open box and add meat. Easy enough right, um no. I managed to burn it until it had a nice crunchy coating. When we all sat down to eat Manfriend asks,”What is it?” I explained it was Lasagna Hamburger Helper. His response, “Oh baby, in what life?” Epic fail. He ended up taking us all out for Mexican food. Sigh, I tried.

    • Couldn’t agree with you more on the $19 price tag. I’m a total Sales Princess. You want to get the most bang for your buck while still bringing home fabulous items, then hang out with this girl for awhile. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting.

    • That’s awesome. I’m working on my crafty side, but it’s a slow process. I’ve master the art of the Pinterest fail however. I will have to check out your home decor tour. Thank you so much for stopping by. Agreed, this linkup is awesome thus far. Can’t wait for tomorrow.

  3. this is amber and my first ever joint linkup like this, so we are so happy to have you! i love reading about how people decorate and why they love the things they love. i’m looking forward to the rest of your posts too!

  4. Ok, those darn reindeer are adorable! What a dealio! As a broke college student, I’m loving good deals that are actually cute! Fabulous on a budget, love it!

    • Fabulous on a budget, it’s very possible. You’d be amazed how many great things you can get out there at an awesome price. “Rule” (I say rule, but truth be told I don’t really believe much in rules) number 1, never ever ever pay full price unless your heart will simply break without it. I’ve had those moments where the thought of walking away from said item made my heart hurt just a little bit, I make those moments the exception though. Check out stores right after Christmas, hello fabulous on a budget deals. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

