12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Wrapping Paper OCD

I stand before you today with a problem, well others perhaps see it as I problem, I more see it as a delightful pastime. I am without a doubt, to the moon and back, borderline need a support group, obsessed with wrapping paper. Simply put, I can’t get enough of the stuff, and I want to love it and hug it and squeeze it until it’s head pops off. With that said, welcome to my chaos, today we’re talking “Favorite Christmas Traditions”.

Grab your scissors and tape we’re going on an adventure in crazy lady wrapping paper land……please keep your hands and feet inside the crazy train at all times….

ALL ABOARD!

I blame my mom. Okay, okay perhaps blame is a bit harsh. I don’t “blame” her per se, but I contribute my sometimes unheathly wrapping paper needs to my childhood. Somewhere along the Christmas line Mom came to posses an economy size roll of green wrapping paper. The green paper was “decorated” (I use that term loosely) with simply Merry Christmas. My entire childhood I only ever received gifts wrapped in hunter green paper  with rusty golden Merry Christmas on it. Year after year… on and on… same ole paper. Ah! It was enough to drive a kid insane. I bet if you look in one of her storage contains you’ll probably still find enough of that green paper to wrap gifts for all of the good little boys and girls around the world.

Needless to say this little girl grew up and said, “Heck No Boring Wrapping Paper”. That’s where the story begins. A desire to makeup for 17 Christmas’s under the weight of the green wrapping paper of blah. It started out innocently enouh, a roll of sparkly ornament paper here and a roll of pink Christmas ballerina paper there. Soon that wasn’t enough, I was buying 5 or 6 rolls at a time. In fact to this day I can’t pass wrapping paper without feeling a steady pull to give it a nice home in my wrapping paper closet. It needs me, I love it so.

My Precious Paper

Now my wrapping paper obsession is probably at an all time high. I specifically pick out wrapping paper for each person I’m gifting to. Something that say, “Yup this is what I think of you”. Then every gift for that person is wrapped in their specific wrapping paper. Santa even joins in the OCD madness when he stops by our house. Santa, bless his cookie loving heart, is a bit narcissistic. When he leaves gifts at our home he wraps them in wrapping paper adorned with his bright smiling face. That’s right, even Santa uses special Santa wrapping paper. Apparently wrapping paper addiction is contagious. Might want to use a dab of hand-sanitizer when you leave.

My “problem” or extreme love for wrapping paper has become a walking joke for the fam. They’ve been known to wrap with random wrapping paper over my wrapping job, and then wait. Sit back and watch until I notice the oddball under the tree and proceed to have an egg nog induced meltdown. Why oh why would someone throw off that wrapping paper system? I don’t get it. Insert head spinning here. Oh and do they ever laugh a fully bellied Christmas laugh at my wrapping trials and tribulations. It’s all fun and games until someone gets a paper cut.

I do love this time of year filled with twinkle lights, ribbon, and wrapping paper obsessions. This I my favorite holiday tradition, picking out the perfect wrapping paper for everyone. Even if they maybe don’t share the wrapping paper love. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside thinking about it. Sigh, I really love my wrapping paper babies…..kidding…. sort of.

As always, until next time….

Keep it Sassy & Classy,

B's Sig

5 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Wrapping Paper OCD

  1. Wrapping paper is fun! I have special wrapping paper for my girls and I love to color coordinate my presents as well! It’s nice when it all pretty and put together 🙂

    I hope you’ll read my blog post I linked in your comment system… It’s about OCD.

  2. I love that you pick out wrapping paper for each person. I don’t know anyone else who does that! I mean that in a good way, promise. I love some good wrapping paper, and I can totally understand how plain boring paper year after year could drive someone insane. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

    • What can I say, I march to the offbeat of my own drum…kidding… sort of. lol. I also have AWFUL handwriting so this is a great way to avoid writing out name tags. Except I do have to help Santa write out his, but he’s worth it. Thanks so much for stopping by and saying hello.

    • I can’t look away. It beckons to me by name through the store. I just close my eyes and walk right to it. I went to Kohls the other day for a party outfit… left 2 hours later with 3 things of wrapping paper and no party outfit. Story of my life.

Leave a Reply

